“I am….” – an exercise in positive self-talk

One of my goals for this week was to write 10 positive things about myself.  I thought it would be an even bigger challenge if I posted them here, thereby encouraging myself to really own this positive self-talk.

I tend to revert to negative self-talk  when I”m dealing with a lot of stress, busy, or just not paying attention.  But it really is as simple as paying attention and stopping the negativity as soon as I am aware of it.  Reminding myself that I’m strong, capable, confident, and   In a matter of minutes I can turn my day around with a bit of positive talk to myself.  Sometimes, faking it ’til you make it really does work!

Making this list was a little tough because I found myself doubting the things I wanted to list.  I would wonder if I was as good as the person reading the list….but who cares!?  This is about me, and that’s OK.  And having confidence in myself isn’t about comparing myself to others – that’s never going to work.  It’s about looking at myself in a clear and positive light and actually taking ownership and enjoyment in my positive attributes.

My 10 positives for today:

1. I have strong legs that can dance, run, and keep me on my feet for an 8 hour shift.

2. I have a great sense of humor and love to share my big, loud laugh with everyone.

3. I am kind and patient.

4. I am curious and interested in learning new things.

5. I have eyes that sparkle with life.

6. My hair is long and thick and healthy.

7. I’m never afraid to ask questions.

8. I make room in my life for fun and relaxation

9. I have a sense of adventure.

10. I am loving and supportive.

Do you engage in positive self-talk?  What are your positive things for today?

Leave a Reply

