Running…again

I haven’t been running in weeks….for a few reasons.

  • Being completely flat-out with school
  • Being intimidated by training for a longer mileage race (10K)
  • Excuses
  • Bingeing

Ultimately, no good excuses…just a lot of them.

Running has always been as much of a mental challenge as a physical one for me.  How quickly I can convince myself that I’m “not really a runner” and how that statement makes me NOT one immediately.  If I run, I’m a runner.  If I give up on myself, then I’m not.  I’m sick of giving up.

I think I’m going to go back to the basics.  Break it down to small bite-sized chunks.  Work on short bursts of running intervals to increase my confidence, stamina, and strength.  I am thinking of going back to the C25K program (but starting on Week 4).  This will help me have a plan, and a focus to run 3 times a week.

Crossing the finish line at my first 5K race - SO happy! - April 2011

 

Leave a Reply

